

Minutes for the Twelfth Meeting of the Board of Studies in Physics held on 08.02.2018 at 11.30 a.m. at IISU Campus, Jaipur

The following members were present:

1.	Prof. Pradeep Bhatnagar	Chairperson
	Dean, Faculty of Science	
	The IIS University, Jaipur	
2.	Prof. N. K. Jaiman	External Member
	Department of Physics	(Academician)
	University of Kota	
	Kota	
3.	Prof. K. S. Sharma	Member
	Advisor, The IIS University, Jaipur	
4.	Dr. Nidhi Bhargava	Member
5.	Ms. Akansha Khandelwal	Member
6.	Dr. Rimpy Shukla	Member
7.	Ms. Neeraj Kulhari	Member
8.	Ms. Kanika Maheshwari	Member
9.	Dr. Ritu Jain	Convener

The following members could not attend the meeting:

1.	Prof. Anurag Sharma Head, Department of Physics	External Member (Academician)
2.	IIT, Delhi Mr. Abhishek Jain Gali No. 2 Anandpuram, Gurudwara Road Modi Nagar 201204 U.P.	External Member (Industry Expert)
3.	Ms. Rajni Verma Assistant Professor SMS Medical College Jaipur	External Member Alumna
4.	Mr. Gyanesh Soni	Member

Web : www.iisuniv.ac.in Email : icg@lisuniv.ac.in

www.icfia.org



ICG Campus, Gurukul Marg, SFS, Mansarovar, Jaipur 302020 INDIA

Telephone : 91-141-2400160-161 Fax : 91-141-2395494



At the outset, Dean, Prof. Pradeep Bhatnagar welcomed all the members of the BOS.

- 1. The minutes of the last meeting held on 23.02.2017 were considered and approved.
- The syllabi of the following programmes/courses for the academic year 2018-2021(Semesters I-VI) for UG were considered and no changes in the contents were suggested:
 - i. B.Sc(Pass Course)
 - ii. B.Sc , B.Ed.
- 3. (i) The already approved syllabi for B.Sc. (Pass Course) Physics of the academic Year 2016-17 (Semesters V and VI) and 2017-18 (Semesters III to VI) were considered and approved.
 - (ii) The already approved syllabi for M.Sc. Physics for the academic year 2017-18 (Semesters III & IV) were considered and approved .
- 4. The course structure ,nomenclature and credit pattern of M.Sc.(Physics) for the academic session 2018-19 offered by the department were approved in the meeting with following changes:
 - a. Two new papers of two credit each, to be introduced in the Syllabi of M.Sc. Physics to acquaint students with the applications of Physics in the following upcoming fields:
 - (i) In Semester I , PHY 127 Astrophysics
 - (ii)In Semester II, PHY 227 Medical Physics
 - b. The syllabus of paper PHY 123 Quantum Mechanics is restructured.
 - c. The nomenclatures and the contents of the following three papers have been changed as the same are to be restructured for more coherent learning of these papers:
 - (i) PHY 222: Numerical Methods and Application of MATLAB to Programming in C++ and Applications of MATLAB
 - (ii) PHY 323: Advanced Quantum Mechanics to Numerical Methods and Computational Physics
 - (iii) PHY 423: Introductory Quantum Field Theory to Advanced Quantum Mechanics
- 5. The BOS Co-opted **Dr**∠**Nidhi Bhargava** as a member of the Examiner's Selection Committee for the academic session 2018- 2019.

Web : www.iisuniv.ac.in www.icfia.org



ICG Campus, Guruku! Marg, SFS, Mansarovar, Jaipur 302020 INDIA

Telephone: 91-141-2400160-161 Fax: 91-141-2395494



- The question papers for the Semesters II, IV & VI Examinations, April-May 2017 and Semesters I, III & V Examinations November-December 2017 were reviewed and no suggestions were made.
- 7. The Examiner's Reports for the Semesters II, IV & VI Examinations, April-May 2017 and Semesters I, III & V Examinations November-December 2017were reviewed.
- 8. The panel of examiners was reviewed and some additions were made.
- BOS members were informed that the University is going to introduce grading system for students to be admitted in the academic session 2018-19, on the similar pattern, as implemented in C.B.C.S. courses.

10. The meeting ended with a vote of thanks.

Dr. Raakhi Gupta Rector & Registrar Prof. Pradeep Bhatnagar Dean, Faculty of Science

Dr. Ritu Jain Convener

